In Workplace version 8, if Workplace was syncing projects and the device needed to be replaced or re-installed, this article will explain some issues that need to be done before projects will sync.
A Workplace project is 'owned' by both a user and a device. After a fresh install of the agent, Workplace will allocate it a new device ID. The projects though are owned by the old device ID, and so will not sync.
First you will need to login to the Workplace portal and remove the old device.
After the agent has been reloaded, it will appear on a new device in the Workplace portal. This device will need to be given full access to the existing projects.
On the local computer, there is also a hidden folder called '.cache'. This folder will need to be deleted.
The projects should then be able to be synced or merged as required.