This article will cover why the settings on a file or folder are lost when it is moved between projects.
- A Workplace Customer
- A file or folder that has been moved
When you move a file or folder, it is essentially a copy-then-delete function. This means that a new file or folder is created and the shares, versions, public links and email settings are not applied to the new file or folder. The original file or folder will remain in its original location but will show as deleted.
Also, be aware that when a file or folder is moved, any shares, public links and email settings applied to a parent folder or project in the new location will automatically apply to the file or folder you have moved.