Workplace Server - Folder Sync Tab

Description

This article will cover the Folder Sync tab within the Workplace Server Preferences. To first access it click on the  icon in your Windows Taskbar > Preferences > Preferences button > Folder Sync Tab.

Requirements

  • Workplace Enterprise Customer
  • Workplace Server installed

The Process

Local folder syncing allows any folder accessible to your Workplace server to be synced with the Workplace service, enabling you to sync projects to the locations most convenient for you. With local folder syncing, you don't have to rearrange or move your data in order to sync it to the Workplace service.

These folders can be located anywhere on your local drive, an external drive, or a network drive. These synced local folders provide the majority of the same features and functionality as a project. In fact, a local folder that is synced becomes a project within the Workplace Online via the Workplace Server device.

The Folder Sync tab allows you to sync a project to a local location, to create a new project syncing with an existing local folder, and to merge a local folder with a project.

The merge option is particularly useful if the local folder becomes disconnected from the project. Merging the two will allow them to be quickly reconnected. For instance, if you need to replace a machine that is hosting a Workplace Server instance syncing to a network volume, this merge option can be used to get Workplace Server on the replacement machine back into full operation very quickly.

Setup local folder sync

  • Click on the  icon in your Windows Taskbar > Preferences > Preferences button > Folder Sync Tab.
  • To sync a project with a local folder, click Sync Project. A dialog box with options will be displayed.
  1. Create a Project from Local Folder - Select this option to create a new project in the Workplace service from an existing local folder.
  2. Sync Project to Local Folder - Select this option to sync a project from the Workplace service to a local folder of your choosing.
  3. Merge a Project to a Local Folder - Select this option to merge a project with a locally stored copy. This is particularly useful in rare instances where a project must be reconnected with a locally stored copy, such as after a reinstallation of Workplace Server.

Create a Project from Local Folder

  • Enter the absolute file path or click Browse… and navigate to the local folder you wish to convert into a project.
  • Enter the name of the project
  • Select an owner for the project that will be created in the Workplace service
  • Enter the primary account password of the owner you have selected
  • Click Create Project to convert the folder into a project and begin syncing

Sync Project to Local Folder

Selecting the Sync Project to Local Folder option will open a window:

  • Click Select Project… to view projects available to sync
  • Select the project to sync
  • Click OK
  • Enter the absolute file path or click Browse… and navigate to the location of the local folder that this project will sync to. The local path will be displayed below
  • Select Sync Project into local folder to complete the process and begin syncing

Merge a Project to a Local Folder

  • On the Folder Sync tab, click Sync Project…
  • Select the Merge Project with local folder option
  • Click Select Project and select the project already in the Workplace service to merge
  • Enter the absolute file path or click Browse… and navigate to the local folder to merge
  • Click Merge Options… to show the available option
  • Merge the local Project with the service Project - Files will be merged. If files in the same location have the same name, the most recent version will be retained. If the older version exists on the device, it will be deleted. If the older version exists in the Workplace service, it will be available under “Previous Versions
  • Sync the service Project into the local Project - Any local files that do not exist in the Workplace service project will be removed
  • Sync the local Project into the service Project - Any files in the Workplace service that do not exist in the local project will be removed
  • Click Merge Projects
  • Click OK

Workplace Server will scan all the files in the local folder, compare them to those on the server, and connect all files that match precisely.

Once all the matching files are connected, a notification will display to confirm that the connection of files is complete and that the remaining files will sync as normal.